Quickie gifts to make for other people

My birthday is coming up soon, and I figured I might as well post this now rather than far off into the future. Imagine that this is the first of many many future lists. And god, how I love lists. If you have any suggestions for future quickie crafts just leave a comment. Hopefully all the photos are properly credited. >_>

I wanted this list to be a lot longer, but I figure I’ll add new projects in future gift lists.

I’ve knit things for other people, and I enjoy seeing them wearing things I’ve made for them, be it hats or gloves. Generally though, I don’t make anything that takes more than 2 hours to make, because watching people “mistreat” things I’ve spent hours and most of my patience to make.

So here’s a list of crafts I like that don’t take up a lot of room to make, don’t require buying any crazy equipment, and are cheap. (I am assuming that you people have at least a modicum of crafting supplies.) Please take any necessary precautions when making your stuff. Don’t go and lock your self in a room with an open tube of E-6000.

Flower Earrings

Image from Grosgrain, also I need those earrings

I recently lost my flower earrings that seriously looked just like the ones in this tutorial, and I totally intend on making new earrings to replace the ones I lost. The same tut works for making any type of earring you can make with a small bead or button. I’ve done this with bobby pins and hair clips as well, if you or your friends are into that kind of thing. I typed flowers 10 mm in the supplies search box for Etsy and came up with a lot of great beads that would be perfect for this project. You can further specify and type cabochons for ones you don’t have to snip the backs off of.

Quick links: Earring Posts, E-6000 Glue

Total Price: Under $10 for an absurd amount of earrings

Custom “designed” Ceramics

Like an iron-on decal for your mug. Image from DesignSponge.

A somewhat easy project from Design*Sponge. I’d do it on mugs or cups or whatever the hell you have around that happens to be oven safe or microwave safe if the paper you buy allows for that.

Quick Links: Decal Paper

Total Price: Under $20, depending on where you buy the paper and the ceramic-ware.

Altoids Tool Kit

Image from Lifehacker

Maybe some people wouldn’t be so excited to receive something like this project from Lifehacker, but I would totally dig it. Possibilities for tool kits for other crafts work too. Thread, needles, and notions for sewers and cross-stitchers, tool-kits for knitters and crocheters, and so on. Combine with this tutorial (which might require some tools) or decoupaging it, and it’s ridonk cute.

Total Price: Under $20, even lower depending on what you already have on hand. Right now, this would be under $10 for me.

Envelope Gift Bags

Image from Howaboutorange

These aren’t technically a gift, but if you did buy something and want to cute that up, this tutorial takes a regular envelop and turns it into a great bag. Perhaps it can store the earrings you made, eh???

Total Price: Under $5, if I could figure out how to print on envelopes this would be free. Alas, printers are hard. I’ll just go to the craft store and buy a damn stamp.

Other Quick Project Links

Leave a comment