The one where I don’t get my yarn

I’m kind of disappointed in a very popular LYS here in NYC. I’m not going to name names unless the service gets really horrible, and really, it’s a lot of just bad luck that seems to have me without yarn.

I wanted a sweater to be my autumn project since I’ve never made one before, so I went to Manhattan to look for some Cascade 220. The store I went to had a great selection, but not enough in any of the colorways I liked to knit an entire sweater, so they told me I could just order some and come pick it up in about a week and a half. So I order a few skeins in Azure/Dark Teal and leave without yarn.

A week and a half later, I’m at work and I get a call on my cell, telling me that my order of Hunter Green yarn has just arrived. So I call back at the end of my shift and they have ordered Hunter Green which is colorway 8893. I wanted Azure colorway 8892. Not a heinous mistake, but I would have to wait another week and a half.

So here I am. A week and half later, and there is no call. I’m calling them, and if my bad luck decided to get worse without me knowing, and they didn’t reorder what I wanted I’m just going to have to tell them to forget it. I’m not waiting over a month for some balls of Cascade 220. CASCADE 220, IT’S NOT EVEN HARD TO FIND. Cripes.

Whatevs, man. I’m going to Ikea on Tuesday, and I think the Brooklyn General Store is somewhat near there. I’m not going to pass up a chance for a new LYS experience. Swedish meatballs and yarn, here I come!

Leave a Reply

