One part knitting, one part nerd

First part of this post is going to be knitting geekery, then a quick shift to computer and video game geeking out, in case some of you don’t want to read a certain part.

A few quick links to Halloween projects I thought were really cool recently:

Knitted Skeleton | Easy Devil Horn Tutorial | Tiny Crochet Pumpkin | Pumpkin Latte Embroidery

I totally get the knitting pattern books devoted to knitting with luxury yarns now. Up until now the most luxurious yarn I’ve worked with is Malabrigo.(Worsted 210 yd/$11). Which isn’t to say that Malabrigo isn’t luxury, I totally loved knitting with it compared to WotA and 220. On the other hand, I’ve never spent more than $11 on a single skein of yarn before last weekend and that is a lot of money for me, so really the rubric is if I have to work for more than an hour to afford it, its a luxury I can rarely afford.

I’m considering working with ther baby alpaca I got first, and of all the yarn I’ve ever bought (or even touched), its the softest. (DK 665 yd/$25) In terms of yardage, it was a total steal and I would have bought a second skein, but I didn’t want to spend half my Rhinebeck budget on a yarn I was buying on a whim unless it was very special yarn I’m using for a special purpose that I’ll post about later. ;)

So far, I’ve decided on just making myself a winter set with the yarn, although picking the patterns is taking a bit more time. For the hat, I like Hermoine Hearts Ron, but I’m still open to different patterns. For the neck, I searched through my queue and through the database, and I have decided! on Thermis. The mitten decision is still a work in progress, but I’ve been leaning towards Urban Necessity, although I will have to adjust the pattern, since I don’t think I’ll get gauge. All in all, I wanted to find patterns that I felt wouldn’t let the yarn down, and since it was so soft, I wanted to keep it against my skin. ^^

Still working on the body of my Sexy Vesty. It’s coming along rather slowly since I started using my new spindle. =D No pictures this time around, because the camera is¬†officially¬†on its last legs.

PaxEast recently announced that they were open for early registration, and I’ll defintely be there if anyone reading this is also planning on it. Last year I was only able to go on Sunday because the tickets sold out really fast, but this year I’m buying the tickets a hell of a lot earlier.

Last year there were a few games that were available to play there, months before they came out, and I tried out a FPS in 3d. It was pretty cool, but not really my thing. APB was available to play, about 5 seats for police, 5 for outlaws, and the fact that the promoters were tossing out t-shirts made it a really popular booth. It’s too bad that the game committed suicide (they made some baaaaad decisions) because the concept was fairly interesting: a cross between gta and counterstrike. I still have a t-shirt with APB on it :) I use it to sleep in.

Despite being a pretty big con, there weren’t as many booths to blow money at. I think the bulk of the con is companies showing off new types of video cards that haven’t come out yet, and new games. And the free stuff that they give out is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

